Serving as headquarters for The Georgia Trust, Rhodes Hall has undergone significant restoration.
- Self-guided tours: $5.00 for adults, $3.00 for students (with student ID), and FREE for children 12 and under.
- Free admission for Georgia Trust and National Trust members
- Rhodes Hall is open to the public for historical tours on Saturdays from 10 a.m.-2 p.m., with ONLY self-guided tours available.
- Walk-ins are welcome on Saturdays from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Tours throughout the week should be scheduled with the Rhodes Hall Events Coordinator, email@example.com or 404-885-7800.
- We offer group, school, and luncheon tours Monday-Friday with advance scheduling. Call 404-885-7800 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Virtual Tour of Rhodes Hall
Take a look inside one of the last remaining mansions on Peachtree Street in Atlanta. While the exquisite building was originally the residence of Rhodes Furniture founder Amos Rhodes, today it is a house museum and one of the most unique venues in Atlanta for social and corporate events. The upper floors are also the headquarters for the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation.
The History of Rhodes Hall
The home is believed to be inspired by Amos and Amanda’s travels through the German Rhineland in the 1890s.
Wired for electricity when it was built, Rhodes Hall is a prime example of Atlanta’s fascination with new technology at the turn of the century. Over 300 light bulbs illuminated the house, producing a blaze of light still uncommon in 1904. The house, a technological marvel in its day, also included electric call buttons in most rooms and a security system.
Following the deaths of Mrs. Rhodes in 1927 and A. G. Rhodes in 1928, their two children, J. D. Rhodes and Mrs. L. O. Bricker, deeded the house and just under an acre of the original estate to the State of Georgia. Included in the deed was a restriction that the property could only be used for “historic purposes.” In 1930 the building opened as the home of the State Archives and functioned as such until a more modern facility was built on Capitol Avenue in 1965. Rhodes Hall continued to serve as the Peachtree Branch of the Archives.
In 1983, The Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, a non-profit organization, signed a long-term lease for Rhodes Hall with the State of Georgia. Serving as headquarters for The Georgia Trust, Rhodes Hall has undergone significant restoration. The State has funded restoration of the exterior and the building’s mechanical and electrical systems while the Trust has raised private funds for restoration of the interior.
The focal point of the interior restoration was the return of the original mahogany staircase and stained glass windows that had been removed to the State Archives facility on Capitol Avenue. The staircase and windows were reinstalled in Rhodes Hall in 1990.
Rhodes Hall is an outstanding survivor of Peachtree Street’s heyday as Atlanta’s premiere residential thoroughfare. One of the most unique architectural creations in an age known for its eccentricities, Rhodes Hall in many ways defines “la belle époque” in Atlanta.
Amos G. Rhodes situated his castle for maximum visibility on a slight rise at a prominent curve in Peachtree Street. Subsequent development, especially of Rhodes Center in the late 1930’s, lessened the impact of that siting and radically reduced the size of the original estate. However, the imprint of the original landscaping is intact and offers considerable insight into early twentieth century residential landscaping in Atlanta.
The ongoing restoration of this building and its grounds remain a perfect counterpoint to Midtown’s high-rise skyline.
Rhodes Hall is an outstanding survivor of Peachtree Street’s heyday as Atlanta’s premiere residential thoroughfare.